Slide by Jill Hathaway (4 Stars)

Slide by Jill Hathaway

4 Stars

 

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780062077905
  • Publisher: Balzer + Bray
  • Publication date: 3/27/2012
  • Pages: 256
  • Sales rank: 89,289
  • Age range: 14 – 17 Years

Summary: Everyone believes that Vee is narcoleptic, but when she passes out, she actually slides into the head of other people. If she is touching something that the other person had an emotional connection with, then she slides into their mind and sees the world through their eyes. She slides into her teacher right before she makes out with the bus driver, she slides into another teacher sneaking a drink before class, and she slides into her old best friend right before something terrible happens to her. In order to keep herself from sliding, she tries to take caffeine pills to keep her awake, but it doesn’t always help. One night, she slides into the mind of a killer as they are writing a fake suicide note for Vee’s sister’s best friend. Vee wants to tell someone, but the last time she said anything, she was sent to a therapist and no one believed her.

Now there are other murders and Vee doesn’t know who to trust. Her best friend Rollins is acting strange, the new boy in town is snuggling up to her, and her sister is depressed. How can she solve a few murders, keep her family intact, and figure out life as a teenager?

My thoughts: I really liked the premise of this book. I enjoyed the relationship between Vee and Rollins and the caring aspects of family ties between Vee and her sister. The sliding aspect was interesting. Each time she slides, you get a short snapshot of life through the eyes of another character. It’s like having multiple narratives told through points of views of minor characters. I also wish she would have told these little bits in first person point of view. It would have been interesting to see these switches and I think I would have gotten more into the action of sliding if I was experiencing it with Vee instead of her just telling me about it. Overall, I wanted so much more. I really wanted this book to be longer, because I felt like the author could have given me more description that would have helped me lose myself in the novel. I wanted more description on how Vee found out about sliding, her relationship with Rollins, her mother, and then how she moves through the mystery. It was a very good book, and a quick read, but I wanted it to be longer and more in-depth.

 

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

