Tempted and Burned by P.C. and Kristin Cast 3.5 Stars

Tempted and Burned (House of Night Series)

*Warning: Contains Spoilers*

Tempted Product Details

  • Pub. Date: October 2009
  • Publisher: St. Martin’s Press
  • Format: Hardcover , 319pp
  • Sales Rank: 906
  • Age Range: Young Adult
  • Lexile: HL740L What’s This?What’s This?

Burned Product Details

  • Pub. Date: April 2010
  • Publisher: St. Martin’s Press
  • Format: Hardcover , 323pp
  • Sales Rank: 708
  • Age Range: Young Adult
  • Lexile: HL790L 

(3.5 stars, mostly because of Burned)

I listened to this on my iPod and honestly don’t remember where one story ends and the other begins, so it is easier for me to write this as a review for both of them.  I feel a little bad about that because I probably won’t give them the attention that they deserve, but that is my shortcoming.

The story begins at the Abby where the “Nerd Herd” has just pushed Kalona and Neferet out of the immediate vicinity.  Stark is hurt, but healing.  They do a quick scan of the grounds and Stevie Rae finds a very hurt Raven Mocker.  She first thinks that he is dead, but realizes that he is not when he opens his very human looking eyes.  This immediately touches something inside of her and she decides to save him.  She drags him to a shed and patches him up.  Meanwhile, Zoey is having boy issues in the house.  She dumps Eric (finally, again), kisses and hugs Heath, and then cuddles with Stark while he is healing.  She ends up having a dream and Aphrodite has another vision.  This vision is split.  Her vision is that Kalona and Neferet are in front of a council of vampires.  They are trying to say that Kalona is Erebus and Neferet is Nyx incarnate.  Then there is burning of vampires and humans and Zoey is other there making out with Kalona or she whispers to him and he disappears.  With this vision, the nerd herd heads back to the House of Night.  They find that one of their beloved teachers has been killed by Rephaim, who Stevie Rae finds out to be the Raven Mocker that she has saved and sent to the tunnels to rest and get better.  Skipping through a bit, the nerd herd figures out that Kalona and Neferet are appearing in front of the vampire high council.  They then board a plane to Italy to meet in front of the high council as well.  Somewhere in there, Zoey has a shared dream with Kalona in which she finds out that he was Nyx’s warrior and fell because he fell in love with her and could no longer protect her because his feelings were too intense.  He was too distracted to continue his duties.  So, he fell.  When everyone appears in front of the high council, he answers everything honestly making it seem like he is Erebus, but not directly saying that.  Then the high council parts and Heath ends up overhearing a conversation between Neferet and Kalona about the killing of vampires at the House of Night.  Neferet leaves and Kalona hears Heath.  Heath knows that he is going to die, so he calls Zoey to him.  Zoey comes to him right when Kalona snaps his neck.  Zoey’s response is to throw spirit at Kalona.  From this force, Zoey’s spirit is shattered.  I believe that is where Tempted leaves off and Burned begins.  In Burned, Zoey and Heath are in the otherworld.  Zoey’s soul is shattered and she glimpses pieces of it occasionally.  Kalona has been sent to the otherworld to ensure that Zoey’s soul does not return to the real world.  Heath knows that he is not supposed to stay there, but wants to try to help Zoey and keep her safe.  He hides her in a grove and tries to get her to pull herself back together, but Zoey is feeling like she deserves this because of Heath’s death.  In the real world, everyone is attempting to get Stark to Zoey so that he can help her come back to her body.  This includes some investigation into an old religion between Light and Darkness.  Stevie Rae’s relationship with Rephaim strengthens when she accidentally calls Darkness to her and he saves her.  She then becomes bonded with him.  The bad Red fledglings get into more trouble that wasn’t really explored, but a few of them died and Stevie Rae’s secret is revealed to Dallas.  Stark realizes part of his past and threw that past he ends up getting to Zoey.  I will do my best not to reveal the end of this novel like I did the other one.

Honestly, I don’t believe that these are still young adult novels.  I know that I have read reviews that have basically said the same things, but I’m just annoyed with the marketing.  The series started out focusing on the younger side of young adults.  I taught seventh grade and had no issues with them reading these novels.  Now, I am hesitant to put them into a library of students under 16 years old.  Now as a high school teacher, I feel like if I had it in my library then I would be putting myself up for parent complaints.  There are too many scenes of sex, and the language is terrible.  I know that teenagers cuss.  I don’t need to read it on every page.  There are a lot of young adult books that are available to teenagers that don’t have the same amount of bad language.

Story wise, I liked Burned better than I have the last couple of books.  I felt like we finally got away from the focus of sex and got back into an adventure type story.  There was a clear problem that the whole novel built towards and it kept me entertained.  A lot of the previous books have focused so much on the boy troubles and to have sex or not to have sex, which I haven’t really wanted to read the books.  I enjoyed the two basic storylines going on simultaneously through Burned.  I’m almost afraid to read the next book because I am worried that the storyline is going to fall flat again.  These books have the ability to be entertaining, but I would love to have them be more focused on action than boyfriend trouble.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

