I’m back?

Well, I haven’t been blogging for a while.  I took the entire summer off.  What did I do?  I went traveling.  So, here is a mini version of what happened and why I left.

My husband left me at the end of April of 2010.  It was quite a shock, but I’m doing pretty well.  Since I am a teacher, and there was no way that I was going to stay in the house that I was renting with my soon-to-be ex-husband, I moved into my mom’s house (go Mom!).  The best part of living with mommy again is that I didn’t have to pay rent.  Also, since I had already been building my savings for the few months of no paycheck in the summer, I decided that I was going to travel around the US and see some friends and family.  So, when the summer came, I packed up my stuff (books included) and began my travels.

I started in North Carolina to meet my long time internet friend, Steven.  We immediately hit it off just like we had online for so many years, and I ended up staying out there for two weeks instead of just one.  North Carolina is very pretty, especially the Biltmore estate (which I now have a season pass for), but it is not as lively as I am used to.  From North Carolina, I went to Bells, Texas to visit my grandmother, uncle, and cousins.  It was very hot.  I don’t know how everyone in Texas seems to live through the summer, but I have never felt heat like that before.  It’s just so depressing how hot and wet it is.  From Texas, I flew back home and then drove to Salem, Oregon to visit my other uncle, aunt, and cousin.  Oregon was just the opposite of Texas.  I was quite chilly there.  It seemed to be pretty windy near the coast.  My favorite is the fact that you can smell the ocean even if you aren’t right on the beach.  After driving back to Orange County, I jumped a place to Fairbanks, Alaska to visit friends.  Other than the rain on a few days, I really liked the look of Alaska.  It’s too bad that it gets so cold there.  I would prefer the pretty views without the wearing a million layers of clothing.  There was one day that I was there that the temperature got up to about 90 degrees.  I was finally to able to shed my sweatshirt and just enjoy the sunshine, but I believe the natives were melting.  My last trip was back to North Carolina for a quick river rafting (no rapids) tour on the Biltmore and then to Washington, DC.  In DC, I met up with my best friend and helped her shop for a wedding dress.

After that quick weekend, it was time to come home and begin teaching again.  I’m now a high school teacher instead of a middle school teacher, so I’m learning a whole new curriculum.  Needless to say, I did not get much reading done over the summer.  I’m starting to get back into it again.  I will start posting up reviews on the few books that I finished, and start getting back into reading the ones that I acquired and have on my TBR list.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

