Vampire Diaries: The Awakening by L.J. Smith

Product Details

  • Pub. Date: August 2009
  • Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
  • Format: Paperback, 272pp
  • Sales Rank: 5,807
  • Age Range: Young Adult
Elena is used to getting what she wants.  She has just arrived back to school, where she is the most popular and the most beautiful student, to find that there is a new boy who is catching everyone’s attention.  Stefan is just trying to fit in and not use his vampire abilities.  He is pretending to be a normal boy in high school.  He is drawn to Elena because she reminds him of the vampire that had turned him so many years ago.  Eventually Elena and Stefan become a couple, but bad things seem to be following the two of them around.  People are being found hurt or dead in the cemetery.  A strange man keeps popping up near Elena and she is very afraid.  What will happen when a teacher ends up dead at a school event?  Who is to blame?
After the television has shown (and I have not watched) and my students have raved about the book series, I finally sat down to read this book.  I’m afraid that I didn’t really like it.  I think the only reason that I did not care for the book is because it is a book that needs a sequel in order to be any good.  There is no way that you can read this book as a stand-alone young adult novel.  It’s disappointing to read through something only to find out that it depends on the next book to have some sort of resolution to the conflicts that are building.  I enjoy series that have an overall big conflict, but also little ones in each novel that give me some sort of closure and not just a building sense.  If a student had turned something like this into me then I would not have graded it highly because there is no falling action.   I think the best part of this novel is Stefan.  He is a fabulously written character with a lot of back story that makes him entertaining.  I don’t feel like I should care about Elena.  She seems like a stereotypical teenage book heroine.  She is prettier than possible, has no overwhelming personality, and is hurt but very good at hiding her feelings about everything.  Honestly, I want something new.
2/5 stars
  1. The television show is much better than the books in my opinion. You might want to check it out.

  2. I’ve read part of this book and it’s definitely a lot different (and potentially worse than) the show. The show is amazing! From what I understand, they make a lot of changes, and the actors really bring the characters to life in a way that makes you love them. I highly recommend the show, but I’m sorry to hear the book wasn’t good 😦

    • Hannah Talbot
    • June 22nd, 2010

    I haven’t read any of the books but I LOVE the show!!

    P.S. Thanks for the reviews – lots of books to add to my reading list!

  3. I LOVED L.J. Smith when I was in High School–My favorite series was The Secret Circle, though. I guess I didn’t have so much of an issue with The Vampire Diaries, because I had all three books…Now waiting over ten years for the next Nightworld book, that’s another story!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

