The Unwritten Rule by Elizabeth Scott

Product Details

  • Pub. Date: March 2010
  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster Children’s Publishing
  • Format: Hardcover, 210pp
  • Sales Rank: 11,313
  • Age Range: Young Adult
  • Lexile: 830L  What’s This?// What’s This?
There is one rule that no one is supposed to break: you don’t like your best friend’s boyfriend.  However, Sarah does.  She has liked Ryan, Brianna’s boyfriend, since he asked her out to a middle school dance.  However, Brianna always got what she wanted and when she saw how Ryan had grown up and filled out after the summer, Brianna wanted him.  So, as Sarah had always done, she stepped aside and let Brianna have what she wanted.  She was tortured by the constant times when Brianna wanted to hang out with her and Ryan together, but she was doing her best because she never could say no to Brianna.  Sarah thought that she was handling everything okay until one night when Ryan drives her home and the two of them kiss in the car.  Sarah’s world turns upside down.  She hates herself because she likes Ryan so much and she wants to be with him, but she doesn’t know what Ryan thinks and she doesn’t want to hurt Brianna.  What does someone do in this situation?
I really enjoyed this book.  Sarah’s introspection is compelling.  I have never been in that situation, but I felt like I was based upon Scott’s descriptions of how Sarah was feeling.  I really enjoyed how the prose was more like poetic free verse than a simple narrative.  The short sentences or fragments thrown in helped to move the story along and made me feel like I could hear Sarah’s thoughts as well.  Don’t our thoughts happen with half sentences more than long descriptives?  I could have done without the sexual instances throughout the end of the novel, but for the most part I felt like I could have this book in my classroom and recommend it to most of my students.  I would recommend this book to 14-year-old and up depending upon the maturity of the 14-year-old.
4/5 stars
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

