She’s So Dead to Us by Kieran Scott

Product Details

  • Pub. Date: May 2010
  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster Children’s Publishing
  • Format: Hardcover, 278pp
  • Sales Rank: 108,082
  • Age Range: Young Adult
  • Lexile: 660L  What’s This?// What’s This?
Ally Ryan is moving back to the neighborhood of Orchid Hill where her family had run away from just two years before.  Ally’s father made a bad business deal that lost her family house and money, but it also lost a lot of her other friends family money.  Then, her dad left her and her mom.  Now, Ally is back to the scene of the crime living in a small condo with her mom and back to the school that she left because her mom got a job at that school.  The bad part is, Ally’s friends don’t want her back.  She tries to get back within their confidences and make them see that she did not deserve to pay for her father’s bad choices, but she is frozen out of her clique.  The only person that seems to be interested in her is Jake Graydon, the boy who is living in her old house (actually, her old room).  Jake thinks Ally is interesting and quite attractive.  He tries to learn about Ally from his friends, but they don’t seem to want to share information.  Slowly, he gathers information, but he still can’t help but like her.  Can the two of them get together even though one of them is rich and the other is poor?  Is it possible to have a relationship with someone who is friends with the friends that don’t want you anymore?  How can the two of them ever be happy when everyone around them just wants them to be apart?
It took me a long time to get into this novel.  I have never read anything by Kieran Scott (or her alias), but a lot of my students have read the Private series.  I had planned on reading it, but I don’t think that I am as interested in the rich snobby culture that seem to be the main characters in the books.  Even though Ally was supposed to be the most likable character in the novel, I didn’t like her.  I thought that she was mostly shallow and I never felt like she had intense emotions.  I would have liked to have gone further in-depth to find out how she was coping through the disappearance of her dad, the freeze out by her friends, and what it was like to be back in general.  The only thing that I really felt like I got a handle on was her obsession with Jake.  Jake is also fairly one-dimensional.  Honestly, the nice guy things that he does don’t tell me anything about what he thinks or feels.  Lastly, there is a conversation that goes on before each chapter and I would love to know who is having it.  I thought that I had a pretty good idea, but then it changed and Scott never tells us who the two are.  What is the point of that?  The ending definitely leaves us open for a sequel, however it will be going at the bottom of my mile long TBR pile because I am not in a hurry to read it.
2/5 stars
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

